It’s Nice to Understand/Be Understood

Sorry this is late. You’ll see why at the end of this blog.

So I woke up late (around 2PM). I eventually went to eat late lunch with Kayla. She accompanied me to Alice House. Afterwards, we got crepes. Since it was cold, the girl let us inside. It was the other girl, the smiley one. I finally asked her name and I bet I’m spelling it wrong but it was something like Letitia. We all chatted shortly. Kayla asked for more nutella on her crepe and omg hers was spilling in nutella haha. We ate the crepes in the park but omg what a bad idea because it’s TOO COLD. So on our way back to the dorm, we’d stop in stores to warm up.
In my room I just watched a lot of movies. Then way later I went with Kayla to Sinchon to go to Burger King. I wasn’t that hungry but I ordered three orders of fries because why not. Gotta love the stares though haha. Eventually we left, though, to find a pharmacy because Kayla’s friend needed some prescription thingy (not entirely sure to be honest) so we went on a wild goose chase trying to find an open pharmacy at midnight. We walked back to Edae and still no luck. I thought there would be at least one 24h pharmacy but I guess I was wrong.
In Edae, Kayla stopped inside a convenience store to ask the worker there if he knew of one. In Korean she said “I don’t speak Korean very well but anyway is there a 24h pharmacy around here?”. It was great because he seemed wary when she started talking, but he obviously understood her. He scratched his head and said “well I don’t really know” (all in Korean of course) and then a woman walked into the convenience store and he asked if she knew English. She said no but asked him what the problem was. He asked her Kayla’s question and she said she didn’t know of any. Kayla asked her when they open. She asked if Kayla knew of the one down the street, Kayla nodded, she said that one opened at 10AM. Then she and Kayla had a conversation about what Kayla needed and I was just sitting there really amazed by the fact that I knew all these conversations and the fact that Kayla and this woman could have a conversation in Korean despite the fact that we’re sure we aren’t that good in Korean. It was just nice to realize how much Korean I can understand effortlessly. =)
We went to another convenience store, the one by the main gate, and the guy that had talked to us in English not too long ago was working. So Kayla asked him the same question but this time the conversation was in Konglish (Korean and English). He eventually called someone to find out and we overheard/understood the phone conversation (of course in Korean) and apparently the only 24h pharmacies are in Gangnam and that’s quite a trip from where we are (and the subway is closed so we’d have to take a taxi). So we just gave up.
But wow that was fun to realize how much we understand and can be understood. Back in my room, I skype-called my sister, because we hadn’t talked in a while. I also ate these weird Mentos that had really unique/gross flavors. But then my roommate got upset because I was up so late, despite the fact that I had all the lights off, wasn’t talking out loud, and turned WAY DOWN my computer’s brightness. Not to mention it’s a Saturday night. But whatevs. We equally pissed each other off, I guess.

So I went to sleep.

Leave a comment